Day 2-extreme caffeine

M got me a regular coffee at Sablo and a carrot juice, the usual. Quickly fried an egg sunny side up with a tsp of olive oil and a slice of pumpernickel bread. This morning, the egg and juice combo did the trick. Felt super energized and not starved however the coffee was a little like rocket fuel and I’m still jittery. I’m really sensitive to caffeine and if I get just a little over my 100 mg tolerance, I tend to get a little crazy. Anyhow, maybe thanks to the protein and nutrient boost with breakfast and good night rest, I managed to get through the day great. 4 pts

Lunch was also a perfect nutritious meal. I went to Le Pick Up again, it’s become my new favorite lunch spot. I ordered the quinoa salad with grilled zucchini and roasted peppers. Topped with some super delicious grilled chicken and a few blackberries drizzled with a tasty balsamic vinaigrette. Super healthy, tasty, affordable and low on points! 5 pts

I had some leftover chicken from last night’s take out at Serrano’s so I went to the market to pick up some green. Opted for rapini and made a quick whole wheat pasta and rapini bowl and warmed up the chicken. I overloaded the pasta with rapini to really fill up on the veggies and it worked. I felt pretty satisfied with my meal and it was quick to make. In case you missed it on when I posted this recipe a few months ago, here it is again.  I insist because I think it’s one of the easiest and most nutritious meals to make in less than 30 minutes and only 2 pots to wash.
9 pts including the 2 oz of chicken

Penne con Rapini

1 pack of penne or pasta of choice. preferably whole wheat for the fiber
1 pack of fresh rapini (broccoli rabe) cut in half
2 tbsp olive oil
3 anchovy fillets
2 garlic cloves minced
Salt and Pepper
desired amount of preferred chili pepper

Get a large enough pot to fit the pack of pasta as well as the entire bunch of rapini. Boil water  and add pasta. Add the rapini to the water about 4 min short of fully cooking the pasta.

In the meantime, add 2 tblsp of the oil, garlic, chili pepper and anchovies to a large pan. Fry on low until garlic is golden and anchovy has melted. Turning and squashing the chili, garlic and anchovies to flavor the oil.

Once the pasta and rapini is ready, drain and add to flavoured oil pan. Mix on medium high heat to crisp and heat the dish. Drizzle with olive oil and serve.

Snacks we’re a little early tonight but I did good. Had a peach and delicious lavash whole wheat cracker. 2 pts Then I made a blind decision to eat a Mazapan de la Rosa which is like a little peanut paste not realizing the tiny disc cost me 3 freakin points. At least it was sugary delicious and I don’t regret it too much. I couldn’t resist the blueberries we bought last night so I had a quarter of a cup which is no points but so tasty. Total for nightly snack 4.5 points. Went over the daily points by 0.5. Doing good, feeling good and less bloated. Tomorrow’s dinner looks promising, can’t wait.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

