Day 44 posted on Day 47

Breakfast this morning was really delicious and satisfying. Two poached eggs with roasted asparagus, covered in two heaping tablespoons of Hollandaise sauce. I make it from the Knorr instant pack. This is one of those foods that I rarely indulge in, so I can skip making it from scratch. Knorr Hollandaise sauce is actually quite creamy, tasty and easy to make.

My morning coffee has sent me into a speedy cooking frenzy.  The coffee at Kafé sablo seems to turbo charge my life and today, I decided to make enough green pea soup for a week. Pulled jerk pork in banana leaf (forgot to take picture and ate it all),  fresh pasta and ultimate cinnamon buns .

Dinner consisted of fresh homemade eggless pasta which to be honest I totally messed up. I think I went heavy on the flour and it turned out to be hard little gnocchettis but the sauce was really tasty. Definitely a repeat. I haven’t given up on homemade pasta. I will try and try again until I get it right. My mother has also promised me a pasta machine. Very excited about that. I think I will pick her brain a little more, I’m aiming for ravioli and penne.  Pasta is on my list of top 5 favorite foods. I grew up on it and I think it’s the most versatile, nutritious and filling food. I don’t believe pasta promotes weight gain, I believe the fatty problem can be the sauce as well as portion size.

Top left: Measuring cup yellow $9.95; Ultra sharp, colored blade, all-purpose kitchen knife $8.95  www.motivo.ca

Gnocchetti di Zia Lalla

How to make fresh eggless pasta the way my family taught it to me:
Cup your hands together and fill them with flour. Count one scoop per person.
On a wooden board, make a kind of donut mountain with the flour. Fill halfway with room temperature salted water. Start mixing water with flour and keep adding water until you get a nice, elastic dough. Knead until dough is smooth not too dry nor too wet, about 5 minutes. Cut dough in about 6 pieces. Roll out pieces in single strands about 3/4 inch thick. Cut little pillows (about 1 inch in length) out of each strand. Take your index finger, press down and roll the middle of the pillow dough.  Boil salted water and cook gnocchetti a few minutes, until they all float up.

Tomato and Basil Zesty Sauce

1 tbsp olive oil
1 garlic clove, chopped
1 thick slice spanish onion, chopped
1 tbsp  Ortolina (veggie flavour paste available at Italian grocery stores)
1 tsp Lemon Zest
3 Basil Leaves, chopped
1 14 oz can diced organic tomatoes

Fry all ingredients on medium low heat. Cook until onions are transparent. Add the can of diced tomatoes and season with salt and pepper. Cook for a few minutes then add pasta. Top with freshly grated cheese of choice. Ricotta Salata or Greek Feta are great.

The green pea soup with dill yogurt turned out great and only 1 point per serving.  Green peas are one of those little cute little foods that are fun to eat and great for your health. These green little squishy balls are packed with vitamin K and contribute to energy and overall wellness. Along with dill, the anti-bacterial spice. Dill much like garlic have bacteria-regulating effects.

Leave a Reply

