Day 7


Thursday, February 18 2010.  M and I take turns at Motivo on Thursdays and I picked the night shift. The plan was to wake up at 9:00 am, prepare a boost juice, breakfast, do the Bootcamp workout and clean the house.  Now, let me explain what really happened. Woke up at 12:15 pm therefore skipping what would technically have been breakfast at a normal hour. Had lunch with M around 1pm.   I was still in morning mode so I made eggs. Cracked a few organic brown eggs which by the way have no extra health benefits than white eggs. The color simply depends on the type of chicken who laid it.  Back to the egg concoction, I added organic cremini mushrooms, chopped some vitamin rich swiss chard, onions, 1 oz of Edam cheese, sizzling together  in 2 tsp of olive oil.  Then I wrapped some of the eggs in half a Kamut wheat tortilla and a dollop of sour cream.  For drinks, a fresh and frothy boost juice made up of carrot, apple, orange and ginger.  9 pts not bad since the meal counted as brunch

I felt full and energetic most of the day. While at work around 7:30pm, my stomach started groaning like a little unhappy runt.  Luckily, I brought along 10 almonds and 1 WW chocolate chip cookie. Skipped the cookie and had the almonds. 1.5 pts  An important side note on almonds is that they are a super healthy snack choice which help satisfy your hunger. They are also packed with health benefits which are too many to name. The important thing to remember is they are a Super Food and they keep you in good shape for a long time.

I got home around 9:15pm. M already had dinner and honestly, I wasn’t even starving. The almonds were still working.  Seeing the time, I decided to warm up a small dinner so I wouldn’t eat too much later. I warmed up 4 oz of the tasty citrus chicken I cooked the night before in the slow cooker.  I must admit, the organic lemon and orange herbed chicken was absolutely fantastic. I’ve learned a great thing today. The best way to infuse a whole chicken with flavour is by slow cooking it in all its juices and then sticking it in the oven for about 45 min to crisp the chicken. Great recipe and we still have leftovers. For a side dish, I baked a spaghetti squash and added some tomato sauce I had prepared in advance. Great alternative to a carb heavy spaghetti and really easy to prepare. 5.5 pts

When the usual snack time came around I still had a nice amount of points to munch on. This was the spread: 10 Casabi crackers,  3 tbsp of no salt spreadable goat cheese, 1 dill pickle which I need to start making myself, and finally that all important cookie.  6.5 pts Not so bad considering I feel like I scarfed the entire fridge. I’m really liking the smart food choices thing.

Goodnight fellow snackers.

One comment

  1. Hi V

    I am so excited about your website …your making me want to get back into the healthy eating again. I refuse to call it a DIET cause of the word DIE in it. so I choose to change my habits to HEALTHY EATING CHOICES.

    I luv your blog!!!

    NEver give up!!

Leave a Reply

