Day 5

Tuesday. Woke up late, again. Got a parking ticket, fuck. I believe the smoked meat clouded my brain last night while parking on the wrong side of the road.

Ran to work. Gulped a Stoneyfield Yo Baby Organic Vanilla Yogurt with my usual small coffee and sugar.  3.5 pts

M arrived around noon with my boost juice which I was craving. He really makes it with love and always washes the juice machine. He’s a sweetheart. 1.5 pts

Very happy to have accomplished a few tasks today. Felt energetic and productive all day.  After running some errands, I decided to go home for lunch. Another reason I had to go was M forgot my lunch at home. I think I’m starting to find the ADD cute or at least I’ve happily convinced myself of it.

Lunch consisted of a clear glass mixing bowl filled with baby spinach, a can of water-drained tuna seasoned with salt, pepper, 1 tsp olive oil and white wine vinegar. I believe Spinach is a far better alternative than regular iceberg or mixed salads.  The leafy green is packed with nutrients and easily available in Organic packages. Spinach is filled with anti-cancer agents. It helps you bone up with its high amounts of vitamin K. Great for cardiovascular protection and promotes gastrointestinal health.  The list goes on and on but my favorite quality of spinach is that it’s BRAIN FOOD which makes you smarter and helps you become stress free. 3.5 pts

M, m and I decided to finally see Avatar in 3D. The movie was at 7:30 pm so we had dinner at home. Happy about finally having a regular healthy dinner! I cooked penne pasta with rapini. It’s quick, easy and minimal dishes to wash. Here’s the recipe, a classic from my mother.

Penne con Rapini

1 pack of penne or pasta of choice. preferably whole wheat for the fiber
1 pack of fresh rapini (broccoli rabe) cut in half
1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
3 anchovy fillets
2 garlic cloves minced
Salt and Pepper
desired amount of preferred chili pepper

Get a large enough pot to fit the pack of pasta as well as the entire bunch of rapini. Boil water  and add pasta. Add the rapini to the water about 4 min short of fully cooking the pasta.

In the meantime, add 1 tblsp of the oil, garlic, chili pepper and anchovies to a large pan. Fry on low until garlic is golden and anchovy has melted. Turning and squashing the chili, garlic and anchovies to flavor the oil.

Once the pasta and rapini is ready, drain and add to flavoured oil pan. Mix on medium high heat to crisp and heat the dish. Drizzle with olive oil and serve.

I didn’t have any meat on hand for the protein and m doesn’t like salmon so my mother gave me a delicious roast pork with caramelized onions and apples she had prepared the night before. She always seems to save the day.  She’s great. So I had 2 oz of pork. 10 pts

We never found parking at the movie theater because of cheapy Tuesdays so we decided to go back home and watch American Idol. I wasn’t too sad about missing the movie because I got to watch Lost. They are finally answering questions after 9 seasons. It’s exciting and draining to watch. So naturally, once the show was over, I got the munchies.

This time, I had a few leftover points but I made the right snack choices. I had 6 almonds, 1 tarallo, 1 tblsp goat cheese, 1/2 cup grapes, 1 WW choco chip cookie and finally 1 Cantuccini italian cookie.  7.5 pts

I’m over by 1.5 pts for the day. Acceptable but I need to fix this night-time snacking problem.

Leave a Reply

